AOSSEC01-BP02 Activate node-to-node encryption
Activate encryption for secure transmission of data between nodes, protecting it from unauthorized access.
Level of risk exposed if this best practice is not established: High
Desired outcome: Node-to-node encryption is activated for OpenSearch Service domains, providing full data protection in transit.
Benefits of establishing this best practice: Improved security and confidentiality of data in transit.
Implementation guidance
Node-to-node encryption add an extra layer of security to the inherent security features of OpenSearch Service. It incorporates Transport Layer Security (TLS) to secure all communications between nodes.
Each OpenSearch Service domain, regardless of whether the domain uses VPC access, resides within its own dedicated VPC. This architecture protects traffic between OpenSearch nodes from public access. However, traffic within the VPC is unencrypted by default. Node-to-node encryption enables TLS 1.2 encryption for all communications within the VPC.
If you send data to OpenSearch Service over HTTPS, node-to-node encryption keeps your data encrypted as OpenSearch distributes (and redistributes) it throughout the cluster. If data arrives unencrypted over HTTP, OpenSearch Service encrypts it after it reaches the cluster. You can require that all traffic to the domain arrive over HTTPS using the console, AWS CLI, or configuration API.
If you enable fine-grained access control, node-to-node encryption is required.
Implementation steps
-
Navigate to the Amazon OpenSearch Service console.
-
Create a new domain, or modify an existing domain:
-
For a new domain, choose Create domain. For an existing domain, select the domain name and choose Actions, then Edit security configuration.
-
If fine-grained access control is enabled, all encryption options under the Encryption box will be enabled by default and cannot be disabled.
-
If you don't have fine-grained access control enabled, then you can enable Node-to-node encryption located in the Encryption box.
-
Choose Save changes.
-