View a markdown version of this page

Managing dashboards - Amazon Managed Grafana

Managing dashboards

This documentation topic is designed for Grafana workspaces that support Grafana version 13.x.

For Grafana workspaces that support Grafana version 12.x, see Working in Grafana version 12.

For Grafana workspaces that support Grafana version 10.x, see Working in Grafana version 10.

For Grafana workspaces that support Grafana version 9.x, see Working in Grafana version 9.

For Grafana workspaces that support Grafana version 8.x, see Working in Grafana version 8.

On the Dashboards page of your workspace (available by selecting Dashboards from the left menu), you can perform dashboard management tasks, including organizing your dashboards into folders.

For more information about creating dashboards, see Building dashboards.

Browse dashboards

On the Dashboards page, you can browse and manage folders and dashboards. This includes options to:

  • Create folders and dashboards.

  • Move dashboards between folders.

  • Delete multiple dashboards and folders.

  • Navigate to a folder.

  • Manage folder permissions. For more information, see Dashboard and folder permissions.

Restoring deleted dashboards

When you delete a dashboard, it is kept in a Recently deleted list, from which you can restore it. Deleted dashboards are retained for up to 12 months, or until the deletion history reaches its limit of 1,000 dashboards, after which the oldest deleted dashboards are permanently removed. Deleting a folder is immediate and can't be reversed.

Note

You can restore dashboards that you deleted. Users with administrator permissions can restore dashboards deleted by any user. To restore a dashboard, you also need edit permissions on the target folder.

To restore a deleted dashboard
  1. From the left menu, select Dashboards > Recently deleted, or select the Recently deleted button on the Dashboards page.

  2. Select the dashboards that you want to restore.

  3. Select Restore, and then choose the folder to which the dashboards will be restored.

  4. Select Restore to confirm.

Restoring a dashboard has the following limitations:

  • Permissions aren't preserved – Dashboard-specific permissions are not restored. After restoration, you must manually reconfigure any custom permissions that were previously set on the dashboard.

  • Folder-level permissions apply – Restored dashboards inherit the permissions of the target folder that you select during restoration.

  • Version history is reset – The dashboard's version history is not preserved. After restoration, the dashboard starts at version 1, and all previous versions are lost.

Creating dashboard folders

Folders help you organize and group dashboards, which is useful when you have many dashboards or multiple teams using the same Grafana instance. Subfolders allow you to create a nested hierarchy in your dashboard organization.

Prerequisites

Ensure that you have Grafana Admin permissions. For more information about dashboard permissions, see Dashboard and folder permissions.

To create a dashboard folder
  1. Sign in to Grafana.

  2. On the left menu, select Dashboards.

  3. On the Dashboards page, select New then choose New folder in the drop down.

  4. Enter a unique name and click Create.

Note

When you save a dashboard, you can either select a folder for the dashboard to be saved in or create a new folder.

To edit the name of a folder
  1. Select Dashboards in the left menu.

  2. Select the folder to rename

  3. Select the Edit title (pencil) icon in the header and update the name of the folder.

    The new folder name is automatically saved.

Folder permissions

You can assign permissions to a folder. Dashboards in the folder inherit any permissions that you've assigned to the folder. You can assign permissions to organization roles, teams, and users.

To modify permissions for a folder
  1. Select Dashboards from the left menu.

  2. Select the folder in the list.

  3. On the folder's details page, select Folder actions and select Manage permissions in the drop down list.

  4. Update the permissions as desired.

Changes are saved automatically.